So many topics

While I was at work today I had a few things run through my mind about where to run with this blog, where to start, and what could I say on so many topics.

With this being the second post on the main thread, I thought I would just start clipping off some of the things that will be coming up. I cannot tell what order they will be in or if there will be an order, or if as in this paragraph I will simply ramble until I get to something that may in fact resemble a point. Those that know me wont care… those that don’t know me may suggest medication. 🙂

Coming topics –

Games (G) I like or have loved over the years. Frank discussions on what I loved about the games, and if they are out of print may-hap tears for the loss to the rest of the world.

Specific game reviews (SGR). The strengths and weaknesses of some of the games I have played. Ratings will be given based on a scale of 1 to 5 (one = something I hate, five = I want in every game.Possible high score for a game in review 20. To be honest I am not sure I will ever give a score of 20, but I may surprise myself.) in the following categories –

  •    Fluff (the material that gives everything flavor, background, story, developed NPC’s and no not that marshmallow stuff some people put on sandwiches… looking at you lass, yes you)
  •    Crunch (the rules, now this one will be tricky because sometimes hard rules are good and sometimes easy makes things good)
  •    Mod (how easy can I break the rules, add house rules, or power game. Mod can be good or bad depending on how you play and what you like to play with)
  •    Fun (in spite of it all just how fun is this game and this setting)

RPG’s and smalls (RPGSS). (Smalls is a term that I use to describe what are classically known as children. Quite frankly because I try to treat them with just the same kind of respect I do adults, and that usually leaves me feeling that terms like kids or children have a connotation of them being less than adults.) To be honest part of this one stems from the fact that I started gaming at a young age, and the small that my dear lady tutor’s and nanny’s for has expressed an interest in the things that I enjoy doing… so that one is getting introduced to RPG’s.

Crazy Stuff I have created (CSIHC)- Worlds, characters, game engine ideas, game engine failures, settings, strange items, game martial arts, class variants, and ohhhh so much more. And to be totally honest, if I share it here please feel free to use it, share it, and have fun with it as long as you give me some credit for it. If I find my stuff getting into books that others are paying for, and I am not even getting name recognition for my work… -_-

History and Philosophy (HNP)- Not of the world in general but of RPG’s. Why do we play them, how old is the practice, what drives us to unleash our imaginations this way all that sort of fun stuff. This topic type may get a little ranty but I promise to have at least a few facts or historical tidbits that may be of value to trivia collectors.

RANT! (R!) – Yeah if you see this topic someone, or something has gotten my goat in the game community. Not the hardest thing to do, my goat likes to wander and seems to give in to anyone with a bit of rope. But usually I will save this for things like, oh the old “D&D is demonic and it leads children to worship Satan, or Rush Limbaugh or what ever,” crowd.

Product placement (PP). This is going to be me talking about a local game shop, a place to get PDF’s online or something else like that which has stuck me as cool as a way to get a hold of games and game accessories.

I may add more categories in the future but those are the ones I intend to start with. I will save tags to help with more description on a specific post.

Given the work week I may not get another post until the weekend, but who knows…

Keep gaming and gimme the dice, its my turn to roll to hit 🙂

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

