Sound tracking and a note

Ok so while I work on my next serious post… well not serious as in something that is full of earth shattering factual detail, more serious as in a rather large posting… I thought I would bring up a topic I have talked with more than one of my gaming friends about more than once, sound tracking.

Now then for those who dont know at all you may say what the f### is sound tracking. Well its a term I use to help set the mood when I am being creative. When I am making a character for a game I will usually get an idea about the character and then dig through my music collection or crawl all over YouTube and find three to five songs that really fit the character. They may fit the characters actions, their hidden self, the way they move or fight, just about anything that helps me feel out the character a bit better. Let me give you an example, there is a character I am setting up to use in some short stories and maybe turn into a role playing character, for the moment his name is Relentless.

  1. Kick in the Teeth by Papa Roach – This song sort of defines how he is no longer willing to be held down, and that he feels like every blow to him is pushing him further and faster to freedom.
  2. Rock Star (Jason Nevins Remix) N.E.R.D. – As he gets free this song describes how he is feeling, like everything is just one heartbeat from ending, so you might as well go for broke.
  3. La Grange by ZZ Top – As strange as it may be this is actually the song he plays in the back of his mind to give himself a little peace during the rough spots. It is familiar like comfort food, and brings him peace.
  4. Tommy’s Theme by Noisia – When he is planning or plotting or even thinking things through this is the song that sounds to me like him thinking.
  5. Big Balls by AC DC – This song just strikes me as everything the character is against in the stories. And then again for what I have in mind for the character, yeah he has them 😉 heh

So anyway that is the sound track for Relentless as a character. There is a much bigger list of songs that create the sound track for the stories themselves.

I do the same thing when I am plotting out a game. I make a sound track that hits various points or themes for the story I am looking to tell, and maybe pick out one or two songs for major NPCs. It helps me to tie things together and putting the songs in the order of the plot and then adding in the songs for the NPC introductions just gives me a way to make things flow. And then if my players take things in a different direction I can just put the music in another order or find new songs to cover the way they are taking things.

Anyway, I know some folks will flesh out backgrounds, draw their characters, build props or custom paint minis to help give them a hint of their characters. And if you like to go to extremes there are GM’s who build out models and maps with elevated terrain or look into buying massive touch screen tables so they can use digital models and mapping to really give themselves and their players flavor and a deeper feeling for the game. For me, no mater what else I do, it all starts with music.

So what about you lot? Anyone out there do something similar? Here is a chance to share 🙂

 

Ok gimme the dice, I gotta figure out how how to merge three games in six books and two rules systems into one review… yeah… I know at least one of you know what that means…

  1. #1 by dantherpgman on June 28, 2015 - 5:13 am

    I’ve always been one to write up backgrounds for characters I’ve created, but the music realm is all yours 🙂

    I’ve always wanted to play in a tabletop game that uses some appropriate (with selection and volume) background music. I think it would so super enhance the game, and it’s really easy to do nowadays with all the digital music available.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

