Unboxing a Kickstarter

Ok so I have mentioned in the past No Thank You Evil and the Kickstater from Monte Cook Games.

While I was never impressed with their communication skills regarding the Kickstarter campaign after they got funded. I have to say I am totally #$#@$$%@# impressed both with their shipping skills and the final product they put together.

Within hours of completing the shipping form in the Monte Cook Games website (which really made me wonder why they ever sent out the request for addresses on a survey if all the contributors were going to have to go to their site and put in our addresses and get things shipped from there anyway… ) I got notification that my order was packed and being sent. My original notice said it was going USPS. When I checked the tracking number it was going USPS 2 day Priority Mail.

I got it I got it I got it… yeah that was going through my brain while we had company over on Saturday. I finally get round to opening the box. I was worried at first because there was a hole in the top of the box. Not gaping but big enough for a finger or a bullet to have gone through. No exit hole though and nothing foreign in the box. Inside the shipping box, the game box itself was wrapped in a foam sheet that was suspended in the middle of the box with Styrofoam corners. Now then I have a history working shipping and I can honestly say this was above and beyond what I would have expected. That level of packaging is something I would think to see on small fragile collectibles or aircraft parts. Seriously this is hard core great packaging.

Once I got it out of the packaging and took a look at the contents I was even more pleased with my investment. The cloth map gave me an instant flashback to playing the Ultima computer games back in the 80’s, the punch out tokens for stat use and for character standups sent me back to all the classic board games I have ever set up. The wet erase character sheets and the paper ones gave me reason to go “YEAH this is going to be great for teaching smalls.” The oversized dice were a perfect fit, and all the accessory cards… yeah… oh yeah…

Needless to say I spent some time reading through the books for the game and I will be teaching it to a small soon.

For this being my first Kickstarter, I am really pleased with how it came out. I may have to do another one in the future from another company to see if I can come up with something to rant about. For now though, I am just going to be smiling along.

Gimme the dice, I need to see if the Awful Waffle can be rescued or not… 🙂

  1. #1 by dantherpgman on March 1, 2016 - 7:36 am

    Ha as soon as anyone says “cloth maps” I instantly think of Ultima (especially IV) as well! One of the things I miss about the old school gaming days (not that I’m complaining about the golden gaming era we live in now!)

    Doesn’t seem like my kind of game, but I would love to see the game itself and all the little goodies it came with.

    Suspending items in foam for a freaking game? Wow, maybe Gary packed your game…

    Like

Leave a Reply

