Buying Games Online

Ok so its not a world building moment nor is it a game review. Thanks to the holiday season and the chance to play with a little gift cash, I of course got games with some of it. And this is about that experience.

So anyone who is a gamer or knows a gamer knows that there are a few ways to get games. Go into a local game and hobby shop, a book store, maybe a comic shop, and then ordering online. Now then some people will tell you all about the convenience of ordering online. Some will talk to you about the cost savings versus cover price. And all those things are truly possible. And in the case of board games or boxed sets then you may very well see a quality product at your door.

The thing that makes me edgy about going online to order games though is that you are going to be relying on someone you have never met, to ensure the quality of an item you have not seen with your own eyes, that they will package it in a manner that means you are getting your new game all in one piece, and that it will actually get to your door and not be delivered into some other state.

Am I paranoid about these things. You betcha 🙂

Let me give you the example of my latest online game purchase. Being a table top RPG player I ordered from Amazon. But since I ordered a few things that were out of print I ended up actually ordering three books from three different vendors. Now then I start out a little nervous but these were items I wanted in my games collection… again in a couple cases. So my order ends up having one book from Amazon itself, one from Vendor X (not naming them directly), and one from Wayne’s Books.

So the king of dance swing, Amazon, actually fulfilled my order from the local depot, or so it seems as it only took two days to get here by USPS. When it arrived I opened the mailer envelope. Inside I see my book. Oversized 8×10 or so book format like a magazine (for those of you who remember them… heh) The mailer is one of the plastic, heavy sealing, padded bags. And that was it. USPS had shoved it into my mail box and ran. So I take a look and there seems to be some damage around the edges, and with the cold weather there was a little curl…but nothing too bad. SO I took my new book and read through it a bit… and it all seems ok. But this could have been shipped much better, with out adding much cost to Amazons shipping process. More on that later.

Vendor X… Well their Amazon listing for the book they sold me said near mint condition on the book. But they were selling it at a fairly low price. They sent the book in a paper envelope with a small padding structure inside. The book was much lower in quality than they had it listed for, and if it was not for the fact that I feel I spent what the books quality was really worth I would have sent it back and asked Amazon to consider some sort of financial reprisals. I am still considering it because they charged me six bucks for shipping and forgot that I could see the stamp on the envelope that said “Media Rate”, and having worked in shipping I know that with the cost of the envelope included, I was wayyyyyy overcharged for shipping.

Now then to Waynes Books. I was not surprised after I got the book that they not only have their own website and store, but that they have been at this for a while. The book I ordered from them was listed on the Amazon site as being – Very Good – quality. When I got it I would actually say it was more Near Mint. I was expecting bad pages, roughness around the edges, a slightly discolored or damaged cover. And instead I get something that has a slight crease in three pages. If the quality grading scale they use is that strict. I like them a lot. Actually getting to my book was kinda fun and it showed me they have a lot of respect for the product they send and the people they send it to. The book was first wrapped in a plastic media bag. Like the kind you store comic books in. That was then padded with a layer of cardboard that was slightly larger than the book. And then a little more cardboard that was smaller. This collection of material was then put into a plastic padded mailer envelope. Someone was going to have to do some serious work to damage that book. They also used “Media Rate” for shipping and it took a few days to get to me, but for a quality book and quality shipping like that I can wait.

Now then on Amazons web site both Vendor X and Waynes have 99% satisfaction ratings. Both have 4.5 stars overall on reviews. So mayhap with Vendor X I just happened to get the wrong guy or someone was having a bad day or who the heck knows. I can say however that the next time I go game hunting I will likely look at Wayne’s site directly first. And may just go to them right off the bat and order from them. Because with their first effort for me. They impressed me. I cant say it better than that. Amazon did a so so job, and Vendor X got the only 2 star review I have ever left someone… they got two stars because they got me the right book, I can use it, and I know I dont have to go back to them. For me leaving a one star review means that I have actually sent something back, along with comments regarding our next steps with the lawsuit I am initiating.

So yeah this has been a somewhat ranty post. And that was the intent. Ya see this is the kind of situation we get ourselves in when we dont have well supported brick and mortar stores. You have to go online, and trust that what you ordered will in fact be what you get. And you have to be ready for it not to be so you can play the return and send me what I want game… over and over again. With an economic power like Amazon backing the stores that sell through them I can understand giving a bit more trust… because if Amazon pulls their support or offers a bad review from their own perspective… that could be the first or last nail in a vendors coffin.

In the end what I really want to say is pursue your hobbies and your joys. Chase the games and titles and such that you really want. But just be ready to have to either fight for it, or be totally surprised by how good it comes out.

Ok so gimme the dice, I gotta see whats on my collection list that I want to pursue next…

Peace and games to all in 2017, next week a return to world building… or a review… may have to roll for that one…

  1. #1 by dantherpgman on January 21, 2017 - 8:49 pm

    At this point I’m totally comfortable buying games online, especially if it’s something inexpensive. But I have recently been made aware of the value of being able to go to a brick and mortar for other items like rings and cell phones; when you have an issue and need some customer service it’s very nice to be able to talk to an actual human in 3D technicolor!

    Like

Leave a Reply

