Electronic Assistance

So while I was sitting here this morning working on updating my mobile device I took a look at the applications that I use and then realized that there was a topic I had not brought up here yet. Applications that can help, or hinder your game.

I have talked before about getting PDF versions of games that you can carry around a lot easier than a stack of books, but books are not the only thing going when it comes to applications. There are die rollers, map makers, hosting services, character generators, campaign tools and toys, and even just game community blog and calendar sites.

Now then I have not used a lot of them but I have used a few…

From Ufisk there is the PFSRD app. I really enjoy having the SRD (System Reference Document – It is all the rules and mechanics of a game but none of the fiction, art, examples or in depth explanations of the game) on hand like this, even if I am paying 99 cents per added book from the core rules. It is inexpensive and makes it even easier to game with because of all of the book marking features.

I have a couple of die rollers but I dont want to be linking into iTunes or another service so please dont mind the lack of a link.

Obsidian Portal is one of the blog, plus calendar, plus player finder sites that are out there that anyone can take advantage of. I know there are more out there but this is the one I have used the most.

There are some rather good character generators out there. My favorite so far is from Lone Wolf Development. Now then one of the things that I really like about the guys and gals at Lone Wolf is that they offer up a look at their software to anyone who wants to buy in and develop more material. Next on the list is that they are not a subscription service. You buy it and you got it. That goes for their game maps and other tools as well.

Something several of my friends have gone gaga over has been Fantasy Grounds. And while I have to admit that the tool is cool and can be used for a lot of gaming needs, I hate the fact that it is a subscription service. That sort of thing bugs the crap out of me. Let me buy the sodding thing once and get on with my life… but it is pretty… So is d20 Pro but it has the same problem for me.

And these are only some of the items that are out there. Let me make sure that you get what I am saying here… that is a TINY… TINY TINY ITSY BITSY FRACTION of the digital things that are out there to help gamers run things.

I hardly know any of them at all and would really appreciate it if readers would consider giving me a few more to look at in the comments. I dont want to be the online resource of where to go to get things, but hearing about your favorites and hates would be really cool so I could have more material to work with in the future.

So tis a short post this week, I hope that everyone is having fun out there in the real world, and feeling creative as all hell in the game spaces.

Now gimme the dice I need to see how badly I can burn breakfast for me and wife 🙂

  1. #1 by Xenzirril on February 12, 2017 - 5:20 pm

    Re: Obsidian Portal

    I don’t know that state of affairs at the time of this comment, but i canceled my Ascendant account there after maintaining it for three years. They had been acquired and some features in their wiki fluctuated from working to not working. After my support tickets went unanswered I found it was time to move on. Sadly, the features in question are only available on paid accounts, so there is no way of knowing whether quality suffers for free users.

    Re: Fantasy Grounds

    If you know me, I care less for ‘crunch’ in my game. Having a software suite handle that for me is my Holy Grail. YMMV.

    Also, FG does have one time pricing AND subscription pricing. Look for the one-time pricing section of the pricing page. Its steep and you are going to still play for supplements. Watch for deals on their Social Media and also through Steam.

    Also, for 5e Character Sheets, check out this android app. I like it.

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.wgkammerer.testgui.basiccharactersheet.app

    Like

    • #2 by authortao on February 12, 2017 - 6:15 pm

      Thanks for the feedback and the extra info Xen 🙂 Good to have you commenting again 🙂

      Like

  2. #3 by dantherpgman on February 13, 2017 - 10:24 pm

    I’m with you on not paying subscription fees; I try to avoid them anytime I can. Especially for something like that, that’s crazy to pay monthly for something to make characters for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

